Amsterdam - GPS Location Tracking, wearable, suggestions?

Hello everyone!

I'm new to LoRaWAN, but interested to track a wearable with this. The ultimate idea is to create a portable wifi-hotspot, that people can connect to. (hotspot part) The location of this wearable can be followed online (gps part).

For the GPS part, I was thinking to use the Sodaq Tatu + Lora Bee + GPS Bee for this, (http://shop.sodaq.com/nl/sodaq-lora-sodaq-tatu-kit.html & http://shop.sodaq.com/nl/gps-bee.html ) but since i'm new to the LoRaWan technology I have a few questions:
- At what rate can I get measurements from the GPS over lorawan? Will it be often enough to 'realtime' follow a moving person?

Hope that one of you can help me out!

Probably not, see http://www.meetup.com/Virtual-IoT/events/226187193/ (klick "see all" to see the presentation) around 50:30 so skip the first part.

For the dutch viewers: https://www.agentschaptelecom.nl/sites/default/files/brochure-vergunningsvrije-radiotoepassingen.pdf

I would go for the ESP8266 + hoperfm

I think you can make it for about $20,- (battery included). No GPS module needed :D.

Software is still alpha, look at my posts...

Realtime following is not allowed. Its to much data..

I suppose it depends on your definition of 'real time'. With the restrictive 30 sec airtime per day but 0.1s sending time for packets (probably even shorter?) you can send the location every 5 minutes.

(Brendan O'Gorman) #5

I think there are good opportunities at local level gamification, zone based by a node perhaps, sweepstakes, bingo, environment hunts (like the Easter egg hunt) .. things that can be that towns IoT things or activities.. from a user application level. For those that end up doing social based "activity" apps like this, then perhaps only a short step over to IoT-based commercial marketing opportunities with local merchants and brands. (in terms of tying into trackables, wearables)