Before first project - any public test sensors?

I’m just beginning with TTN.

For my Project One, I want to use a stock-standard sensor at my workplace in a nearby town, connecting to an existing gateway (within 2km says TTN map).

But before that, for my Project Zero, I want to read an existing installed sensor (any location any value, but ideally stock-standard), something already connected and operating correctly. This step is purely to establish my ability to read a sensor on TTN, which will minimise the unknowns when I move on to Project One.

Any suggestions? I’ve rummaged in TTN forums without spotting a public test sensor.

because there are none ‘public’.

but for a few bucks you can build one yourself, you’ve made it to register this TTN account, if you’re lucky that gateway that you’ve spotted will receive your node’s data.
just search this board for building instructions.

Yep thanks, and relax: if necessary I’m okay jumping straight to Project One (my sensor on existing gateway) using instructions like those.

However, ideally I’d precede that with an existing sensor. That way, if I later cannot see data from my own sensor, then I’d be confident it’s a problem with my sensor itself - not the gateway or in my TTN account somehow.

Call me a zany optimist, but I’m hoping there might be a public sensor out there somewhere, maybe exposed by a device manufacturer or retailer. I could imagine it being handy to demonstrate the usefulness of a device, or maybe serving as a diagnostic test. Fingers stay crossed.

LOL :joy:

what a nonsense

2 Likes