LoRaWAN simulation issues

Hi there!

First of all, forgive me if I am writing this new topic in the wrong place, I am newbie here and I was not able to decide where to put this.

Anyway, I would like to explain as much as possible the issue I have, and it is related to the Semtech UDP Packet Forwarder communication. I am developing an application to simulate some LoRaWAN devices, and I need to comunicate them to the TTN platform. I downloaded the TTN stack (with dockers), and I was able to set it up properly, since everything is working well regarding to the gateway “stat” packets, but when I try to simulate the “join-accept” procedure, something weird happens when I execute it three times in a row, and from that, it answers with an error message just as it is shown below:

join fail
More clues:

• The issue happens when this is executed in docker stack, but when I execute the same code in the things network console (https://console.thethingsnetwork.org/) it works perfectly every time!
  • Device -> MAC V1.0.3 & PHY V1.0.3 REV A.
  • The testing use cases I have performed were the following ones:

A)
GW connect
ND connect
ND disconnect
…~2min…
ND connect
OK

B)
GW connect
ND connect
ND disconnect
ND connect
!OK

C)
GW connect
ND connect
ND disconnect
ND connect
!OK
GW disconnect
ND connect
OK

Is there a configuration difference between both the console and the docker? Is there something I am missing? Thanks beforehand, looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards.
Daniel.

Looks like you try too soon resulting in airtime issues for the gateway. Every device needs to observe airtime limits and when you ask for too many transmissions in too short a time the gateway will not have airtime available so the stack fails to schedule as there is no available gateway.

Hi @dpergarc, your post says:

Are you running a real gateway or have you built a software simulation of a gateway and devices?