Open Source Project and the App Key

I have a conceptional question that need some more insight from experienced TTNers.

A little bit of backstory: We are currently developing an air pollution measurement kit. It will be the first application officially running on TTN Graz/Austria. Our goal is, to make this device as accessible and easy to use as possible.

The end-user should put the sensor on her/his balcony, plug in the power cable ant that’s it. That’s why we set up our application to accept new nodes on-join, what works really well so far.

We want to publish the firmware once it is finished and this is where my real question begins. As we use on-join, each node will use the same App Key. Is it OK to publish this key in our repository? What are the risks?

I had a discussion with @sp1 on the openIOT slack channel and would like to continue it here to get more insights.

1 Like

I’m no expert, but I’m interested…

The current setup with OTAA is that the join request uses the AppKey to request it’s own set of ABP keys, which are then used for every subsequent transmission.

If everybody knows the AppKey, they would be able to listen for join requests and decrypt it. They would then have the ABP keys, and they can then use the ABP keys to decrypt everything.

While the chances of somebody hearing the OTAA join is much lower since it is not done very often, if they do, the whole session is compromised. You shouldn’t be sharing AppKeys at all!

What i’ve found so far on the topic:

Dynamically activated devices (OTAA) use the application key (AppKey) to derive the two session keys during the activation procedure. In The Things Network you can have a default AppKey which will be used to activate all devices, or customize the AppKey per device.

Source: https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/docs/lorawan/security.html