Payload with only 2 characters and coding rate 4/7?

integer_payload

I am new to LoRa, and am trying to learn by capturing LoRa packets on AU915. While going through the collected data using util_pkt_logger (from https://github.com/kersing/lora_gateway) on my gateway, I came across a payload that only contained 2 characters–all integer.

What could be the possible cause of it?

1. Would the CRC_BAD suggest that the whole payload was not captured?
  2. Could it be an unencrypted raw message from a node?

Thank you for your patience and willingness to share your knowledge.

That’s actually one byte, 0x32

Not only is the CRC bad, the coding rate 4/7 is not one typically associated with LoRaWan.

Most likely this is either non-LoRa energy or part of a fractured packet triggering false detection; or at the outside perhaps it is some other non-LoRaWan use of LoRa radio modulation, but still not correctly received given the CRC issue.

LoRaWan and similar networks don’t really use messages that aren’t long enough to include several key identifying fields, which you can read about in the LoRaWan specification.

You’ll probably learn more by generating your own valid packets from an inexpensive node.

2 Likes

Not only is the CRC bad, the coding rate 4/7 is not one typically associated with LoRaWan.

Your comment on the coding rate was particularly helpful as I had not thought about looking at the coding rate to filter out invalid LoRaWAN packets. I had briefly read that LoRa allowed coding rate values were ‘4/5, 4/6, 4/7 or 4/8’ (from a Youtube LoRaWAN tutorial, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zwCYYx1i2I), but did not know that 4/7 was typically not associated with LoRaWAN.

I just understood that different coding rate was used based on the distance between the end node and the gateway, with lower coding rate being used when more distance needed to be covered.

Based on the data that I have collected, all CRC_OK packets seem to have a coding rate of 4/5.