Indoor Gateway + Sensor max range?

Hello TTN community! I am brand new to this world, but getting quite excited about it and reading as much as I can!

I am planning to get this two items from the things industries:

• LoRaWAN Soil Moisture and Temperature Sensor
  • Enterprise Indoor Gateway

to run a small pilot in a rural area BUT I need some advice/help on this PLEASE.

The plan is to set it in a rural area in the south of Italy to monitor soil mousture and temperature in an orange field. The Gateway would be indoor (in a house where also internet connection is available) and roughly 800m away from the sensor.

Would that work? there obviously no major buildings in between, but not either a perfect line of sightā€¦ how likely is to work? As far as I can read relay nodes are not an option.

Apologies for the basic question and please feel free to send me to some more things to read!

Thank you

C

Possibly yes, possibly no - it will depend on how wet and how long the piece of string is! :wink:

As someone new to the field (excuse the pun) perhaps you should spend some time reading on the basics (Learn at top of each page here) and also search the Forum - after ~9 years there is a lot of accumulated knowledge relating to LoRaWAN coverage and the issues users have confronted and the advice given to them at various times scattered through the Forum threads.

In ideal conditions, if GW high enough, and Antenna for the sensor node also high enough off the ground then assuming no absorbtion of signal by the farm building then 800m entirely reasonable/do-ableā€¦but!!! We cannot say as we know knothing of the specific circumstances & things to consider TL:DR (wrt Forum search and Learn) include - but not limited to topics like (in no order of priority/impact) :

1. Height (node & GW)
  2. LOS (Line of sight) - if you stand at one end of signal path with rolled up newpaper/magazine and look to other end point can they be seen? ((ok thats high priority!))