Ardunio Uno connected only sending data once

Hi,

I have been looking around and while there are similar posts to be found I haven’t seen anything that helps.

I have an Arduino Uno connected to an RFM95. This is then talking to TTN via a Laird RG186. This is my first time doing this and I have been following a tutorial I found on at Mobilefish here: tutorial

It works…once as far as I can tell. I found something that said try the newer library for a different issue. I had a go with it but the newer library takes up too much RAM.

Is it possible to get some help as to why my node is sending ‘Hello World’ once please?

This is the modified config.h:
config-h.txt (3.5 KB)

This is the modified ttn-abp-example:
ttn-abp.txt (8.9 KB)

This is an example from the serial output:
Serial-output.txt (860 Bytes)

This is a snip of the ttn console showing it received some data (‘hello world’ twice’??):
ttn-showing-data

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Two things;

The RFM98 is a 3.3V logic device, do not connect directly to a 5V logic device such as an Arduino UNO, you can fry the LoRa device.

Most Arduino UNOs only have a very limited current capability on the 3.3V supply, not really suitable for a LoRa transmitter.

Oh! Thats not so good then lol. I had seen a few tutorials using Unos so I didn’t even think it wasn’t a suitable choice.

Could you tell me what would be a good choice by any chance? Is it a case of move up the range to say a Mega? Down the range to something that has better current capability? Or is it more move away from Arduino and pick something else?

1 Like

If your just experimenting for now, then an Arduino Pro Minis in the 3.3v 8Mhz version is really just the same as a UNO but without all the extra stuff. Same memory and flash. very cheap.

You need an external USB to serial adapter for programming, but they are cheap enough also.

A Mega is also 5V unfortunatly.