AWS Shadows Up and Downlink

Hello everyone

I’m quite new to TTN and AWS and have been struggling with the following issues for weeks now.
I try to be as specific as I can so excuse me if the post gets a bit long.

Situation:
I’m using the Things Stack Community Edition and am recieving data from my edge device.

So far so good. Data comes in to The Things Stack and I can format the payload:

function decodeUplink(input) {
  var reserved = input.bytes[0];
  var parkState = input.bytes[1];
  return {
    data: {
      parkState: parkState,
      state: {
        reserved: reserved
      }
    }
  }
}

Decoded payload looks good to me:

"decoded_payload": {
    "parkState": 0,
    "state": {
      "reserved": 0
    }
  }

Switching to AWS. I subscribe (with MQTT Test Client) to the lorawan/+/uplink topic to test if the data is recieved.
No problem JSON data is coming in as already seen in TTS.

I also want to send data down to the edge device, for this I have a payload encoder in TTS.

function encodeDownlink(input) {
  return {
    bytes: [input.data.reserved]
  }
}

Works like a charm if I publish it in AWS (with MQTT Test Client) with the following message payload to the lorawan/downlink topic (LED on edge device changes state as planned):

{
  "thingName": "myproject_mything",
  "payload": {
  }
}

Problem:
I want to combine these capabilities using the device Shadow in AWS.
I have no idea how I can edit the shadow so that my uplink message gets written in to the shadow.

On the contriary I want to be able to change the desired state to trigger a downlink message to change the “reserved” value 0 or 1.
The shadow doesn’t contain my payload, and a lot of uneccesary data I don’t need.

lorawan shadow on the thing in AWS IoT Core:

{
  "reported": {
    "activated": "2021-04-27T15:28:44.976761797Z",
    "lastSeen": "2021-04-27T19:58:58.851973028Z",
    "gateways": 1,
    "sessionID": "asdfasdfasdf==123123",
    "fCntUp": 1534,
    "fCntDown": 0,