Beginner: We have the problem that our sensors are often inactive in blocks

Hello, I am a beginner and want to ask you for help with a problem. I am a member of a group doing a scientific project in Berlin with CO2-sensors. We have about 75 sensors in The Tings Network and we also installed (and will install) new gateways. But now we face a problem, since a lot of our sensors have blocks (of days or even weeks) of inactivity, i.e. the sensors do not transfer any data anymore. However after this block of inactivity the sensors start working fine again. What could be the reason for this? Does this sound like a problem of the sensor or could this be a problem of the network? (The problem also exists for sensors close to our installed gateways) Thanks a lot in advance!

I have not seen any Network issues or repotted issues on the network, so I will say that is ruled out.

The question is where are the sensors in relation to the gateway?

1. Distance between gateway and sensors?
  2. What buildings, trees or other obstructions are between the sensors and gateway?
  3. Were the gateways actually online? (Are the gateway yours or community gateways?)

Where is the data missing? In the gateway console, in the application/end device console, in the integration/back end database. As noted no major reported issues wrt network in general and if they ‘restart’ sending data after a period of loss unlikely to be device firmware/NS software issue so I would investigate back-haul and integration issues - look concurrently and see where data goes astray…

Has the uplink counter reset or has it increased during the time no data was reported?

1 Like