Best end device board for measuring temperature, oil level, etc, and for controlling in an Industry?

Some device to teach students for putting in practice in a real application in the Automotive Industry? And for using with The Things Network

I am a teacher and I want to prepare my students for working in an industrial application (measure temperature and oil level from an industrial machinery) and controll some relays., but we are serching for the best board. Any sugesstions?

Please do not post essentially the same question multiple times. It splits discussions unnecessarily.

1 Like

What have you found so far - saves us suggesting things you’ve eliminated.

And the selection process would be useful for the students - come up with the criteria and rate each potential device against it.

And through the power of forum search :wink: you will know that we do not consider LoRaWAN good for command & control unless the device itself has good fail-safes. Any CnC design should incorporate the assumption that you send a command, the device acts on it but they you can no longer communicate with it - like turning on a pump - will it turn off by itself?

1 Like

LoRaWAN are suitable for applications more where long rang (100’sm to km) radio links are required. It is also geared more too low power consumption and measurements or telematics send every few minutes to hours. (not that you can’t continues do measurements and sent only when they are out of range).

There are a few boards and some really nice base code to get you going.

You can try LMIC-node to LMIC-node to mention two good stating points for code.

Boards there are a selection you can’t believe - these are a few, but if you Google you will find more.

At the end of the day all of this is dependent on your application, both board and code

LoRa development boards with integrated LoRa support:

Board-id Board name

adafruit_feather_32u4_lora ; Adafruit Feather 32u4 LoRa