Build own SDI-12 LoRa data logger ? Possible?

Hi all,

I am a LoRa newbie but an engineer by trade that has recently began exploring the things network such that I can set up an on farm sensor network at my parents farm in Australia.

I have set up a gateway and have started playing around building a basic node based on these instructions..

What I am hoping to do next is to build a more rugged node that I can use for environmental monitoring and that is compatible with SDI-12 sensors like weather stations and enviropro soil moisture probes. I am imagining that it will look something like this.

Can anyone point me in the right direction where I might find some instructions or examples of people that have built a similar style node and connected it up to the things network?

Thanks, Tim

It is possible to use SDI-12 with TTN. I have one working with soil moisture probes in the US and UK and has been working very well.

I’m not able to share schematics or code due to this being a commercial product for a client.

Andrew

You can find SDI-12 libraries for the Arduino just google Arduino SDI-12 library
This addresses the interfacing your node to the SDI-12 sensors part of the puzzle. With this you can build the data logger piece.

The LoRa piece really has nothing to do with SDI-12. The logger code sends its output data to TTN, this is not an SDI-12 protocol output, instead is a series of bytes to be transferred in a LoRaWAN payload.

1 Like

Thanks, that is a useful library and it has led me to some interesting links. I guess my big question is now, which board is going to be best to build this data logger and then LoRawan payload node. I have found this board online which to me seems the most useful as it allows for inputs of 6-12 volts which I need for my planned use of an enviropro soil moisture probe.

I think I could then attach a lora bee module which I think could transmit the payload back to TTN.

Do you think this is the right approach?

Cheers,
Tim