Buying TTN-Gateway for germany?

Hello everyone,

I’m very new to the things network and the whole LoRaWAN topic.
I have a German “Freifunk” gateway to share my internet connection via an open “Freifunk” WiFi hotspot.
Now I read about LoRaWAN and the possibilities with long ranges etc. and I want to share my internet connection also with the TTN. Maybe later I will use LoRa as well. (I am currently doing some ESP32 experiments with WiFi).
Those are the boundary conditions.

I did some googling and reading and found two possible LoRaWAN gateways that seem to be a good and cheap choice (<200€):
-MikroTik wAP LR8
-Dragino LPS8

The question is: which one should I choose to increase the coverage of the TTN? Or none of these? I am open to any recommendation with a budget of <200€. And: if possible a future proof device. I don’t want to buy a new device every year :wink:

Thank you very much.

Kind regards
Malte H.

Hello Malte,
Welcome to the TTNcommunity. Concerning the coverage of a gateway there is no huge difference between the gateways because most of them use the same chipset.
Much more important is the antenna and where you mount it. With an indoor antenna in a city you will get a coverage of a few hundred meters, with an outdoor-antenna on the roof you might get a few 10km.
As gateway you can use e.g. the Dragino LPS8 or LIG16, you can connect an external antenna quite easy. The advantage of the LIG16 is the power-consumption: 1.5W instead of 4W.
Depending on where you live in DE, it could make sense to contact your local community on their Slack-channel or the community-page of TTN.
Have fun!

The MikroTik wAP LR8 is an excellent product but has a more advanced user interface as it is based on their range of routers. Whereas the Dragino is only about LoRaWAN. If you are comfortable with routers, then either is good, but if you just want to setup a gateway and move on to the fun stuff, go Dragino.

Hello and thank you both for your answers.