Can't upload LMIC example code for ESP8266

Hi,
I’m a beginner at Lora. I got started by using the LMIC library and RFM95 module for testing. I changed some necessary parameters that are respective to my project ( include TTN information like DevEUI, APPEUI, APPKEY, and pins adjustment of NSS,…). I followed the connecting diagram as the image below. The problem came when uploading code for ESP, It continued showing up a window alarming that:
warning: espcomm_sync failed
An error occurred while uploading the sketch
error: espcomm_open failed
error: espcomm_upload_mem failed
I tried uploading without connecting to the Lora module and It was successful but when I reconnected it, It failed with an error was:
ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(1,4)

wdt reset
I really have no idea what the reason was. What should I do with this problem? Anyhelp would be appreciated.
pin

You might want to recheck the pins in use from that diagram - there are two SPI buses on the NodeMCU and D4 isn’t used for either of them.

1 Like

Might want to take another look: D4 is not being used for SPI in the asker’s diagram, but rather as a generic GPIO to interface one of the DIO status pins of the radio.

And anyway, even unworkable pin choices wouldn’t prevent downloading or boot, but only lead to problems with subsequent operation.

Only things that caused issues for power, boot state, or serial communication would cause the reported problem. It’s not evident any of the shown connections should. Edit: comparison with the ESP8266 docs would suggest that “D4” is one of these pins.

1 Like

D8 controls uart0 RTS, so having it connected may affect flashing because firmware arrives via uart0.

Try disconnecting each pin one by one and check when you can upload code again. Try erasing flash as well. I would start with disconnection D0 and D4. I had trouble using D4 since it needs to be in a certain state when booting.

1 Like