Choosing Indoor Gateway

Hi. I am currently developing a cold chain monitoring project and got a Dragino LHT-52, and currently I have a developer gateway for testing which is connected to TTN community edition cloud and I used Data cake to send an alert (EMAIL). I am planning to buy an Indoor gateway. Right, now I wanted to keep it simple, and update alert system may be based on MQTT or something else later. So, I am a bit confused to choose a gateway.

The requirements are
1)Planning to place End device in a closed Indoor place may be maximum of 50 meters(from the place where gateway can be placed), separated by walls. (Planning to connect 10 end devices to gateway)

1. some end devices might be just few meters(1-5) away from the gateway

I have already looked at a few gateways to buy

1. https://store.rakwireless.com/products/rak7268-8-channel-indoor-lorawan-gateway?variant=41806937620678
  2. https://www.dragino.com/products/lora-lorawan-gateway/item/228-lps8v2.html

I am new to LoRaWAN, so the plan is to develop the basic prototype and start using, and then explore different features which might better suit this kind of application. In the end, I want to depend less on cloud providers (subscriptions) and customize it accordingly.

1 Like

If you don’t want to rely on cloud providers you can use The Things Stack installed and maintained (by yourself) on your on hardware combined with (almost) any gateway.
If you decide to go for another solution you need to find a forum that isn’t sponsored by The Things Industries…

Apart from possible LoRaWAN network stacks installed locally on the gateway most gateways are pretty much the same. And those locally installed stacks are not a subject we discuss on the TTI sponsored forum,

1 Like

I’m sure @rish1 will be happy to help you with your commercial project once it has more than a couple of test devices on it.