Communication with only one Gateway

I am new in Lora and Lorawan application. I have some nodes and a Gateway communicating over TTN network. I’m using OTAA and all my nodes are connecting to my Gateway easily. But when a neighbour switch on his TTN gateway happens that some of my nodes joins with that Gateway instead of mine. In this way they use a Spread Factor higher due to the higher distance, growing up consumption.

There is a way to force the communication to a precise Gateway using Lorawan protocol? Maybe changing to ABP?
There is a way to lock Spread Factor on a node to low level or is all in the hands of Lorawan protocol?
In wich way the Lorawan node select a Gateway instead of another?

I apprecate any help. Thanks

Devices don’t connect to gateways, they connect to networks. The gateway takes radio signals and passes them on, there is no mechanism for a device to say “I only want to talk to X”.

Your devices shouldn’t be rejoining - OTAA is meant to be a one time thing and then the device either stores the join details or never gets turned off.

ABP will resolve this somewhat because you can fix the SF which will sort out the power consumption problem but you’ll have to figure out which devices need to be set to which SF as clearly there is something happening in your neighbourhood with regards to reception.

It’s not all clear for me. If the end-node connection is to a network server, so it can change gateway at any time without a rejoin session? Or the packets are always sent in broadcast and all gateways reached by the signal will repeat it to the network server defined by the key inside the packet?

The communication problem could be related to the short distance between node and gateway(lower than 1meter)? In that case the two antennas have problem into communication, so, the end-node could decide to grow SF and reach the neighbour gateway?

1 Like

You are completly right in both assumptions!

1 Like