Dual Channel vs Single Channel?

Hi there,
I’m just getting into LoRaWAN and there’s one thing I don’t get. I set up a Things Stack and was able to setup a gateway on my RPi + LoRa Hat, which is connected to my Things Stack. Furthermore I was able to build a LoRa Node with an Uno and a LoRa shield that is able to send messages to the gateway, which is passing it to the application I want.

However now I’m trying to publish a message on the downlink using mosquitto_pub and the node’s device id.

root@raspberrypi:/opt/thingsstack#  mosquitto_pub -h localhost -p 1883 -u my-test- application -t "my-test-application/devices/my-test-device/down" -m '{"port":1, "payload_raw":"AQIDBA=="}' -P NNSXS.**** -d

Client mosqpub|22639-raspberry sending CONNECT
Client mosqpub|22639-raspberry received CONNACK (0)
Client mosqpub|22639-raspberry sending PUBLISH (d0, q0, r0, m1, ‘my-test-application/devices/my-test-device/down’, … (36 bytes))
Client mosqpub|22639-raspberry sending DISCONNECT

Inside my Things Stack I get a:

info
23:46:50 
my-test-applicationunsubscribe application
info
23:46:50 
my-test-applicationsubscribe application

but no “receive/forward downlink message”.

Currently I’m using a “single_chan_pkt_fwd” I found on Github as my gateway program and saw that there are also “dual_chan_pkt_fwd” ones. However when running the “dual_chan_pkt_fwd” it does connect to my ThingsStack but does not receive any uplink messages from my Node, as well not publishing downlink messages to my Node.

Now two questions came to mind, when reading through the stuff:

1. Do I actually need a dual chan program? I mean as far as I can tell it only allows me to send on two frequencies, however I could just broadcast the downlink message on 868.1 as well, couldn’t I?
  2. Would I need two LoRa modules, one for each channel respectively or is it enough to have one module (The one on my shield) to use in the dual chan program? When running the dual chan program it tells me: