Dummy's question on how to sleep a SAMD21 with LMIC

I apologize in advance if my question is not relevant or impossible to answer.
I am an old electronic engineer (with very little knowledge of C++) trying to reconnect to the latest technologies in order to build a connected bee hive. I am using an Adafruit Feather M0 LoRa (SAMD21 processor) with the MCCI LMIC library on PlatformIO. I loaded the code from Lopes Parentes which is great for masking LMIC complexity and I added some lines of code to read my sensors, prepare the payloads and send them. Everything works fine but I am left with the problem of optimizing power consumption.
Does anybody know about a step by step instructions guide (understandable by a dummy of my kind) about how to implement sleep mode and wake-up on the micro controller I am using. I have read a lot of posts on this forum but still fail to understand precisely what to do. Which library should I use, in which part of the code should I implement the sleep, how to wake-up, how to ensure LMIC doesn’t loose time reference when it wakes-up…
I have seen the code from @descartes but it’s for a different processor and I wasn’t able to precisely understand the logic of the code.
Any help of any hint would be welcome.
Thanks in advance !

There is a state machine that uses a series of flags set in different places to decide if it’s OK to sleep, should it do a data acquisition, trigger a send etc etc. The main flag of importance is set after a TX_COMPLETE event as you can be (reasonably) sure that the LoRaWAN MAC has done its thing for now and is OK to sleep. The code that puts the ATmega328 to sleep is particular to the AVR.