Duty Cycle - Time on Air

There doesn’t seem to be much talk of the constrains of using ISM Band frequencies that LoRaWAN runs on. I’m no expert (those who are pls put me right) but wanted to get a conversation going for those new to ISM band coms.

In Europe I’m using a crude rule of thumb which is max of 30 seconds of transmission time in every hour to meet a duty cycle 1%.

// From LoRaWAN spec
Example: A device just transmitted a 0.5 s long frame on one default channel.
This channel is in a sub-band allowing 1% duty-cycle.
Therefore this whole sub-band (868 – 868.6) will be 30 unavailable for 49.5 s.
So in my simple world that is approximately 1 transmission every minuet.

For those who want to dive a little deeper you can use the LoRa calculator
http://www.semtech.com/apps/filedown/down.php?file=SX1272LoRaCalculatorSetup1'1.zip

Also those who want to explore Antenna range Link-Labs have neat tool.

Can we add an RF Category to forum please.

2 Likes

This is indeed something to consider carefully. Good thing is that there are multiple sub-bands, so you can switch between them to increase your air-time (testing this right now with the lmic implementation). There also is a sub-band with 10% duty-cycle.

Right now, different vendors use different frequency plans. We have some options, and choice to be made.

I’m putting together a wiki page on frequencies, bands, and channel plans, to collect all this information. Hope to have it up tomorrow. Feel free to comment.

And thanks for the links!

@Thomas assume you are taking about?
Band g3 869.4 MHz 869.65 MHz 27 dBm 10 % or LBT
Which is single channel

It’s worth noting MultiTech LoRaWAN mDots don’t support band G3
They use Band g1 and currently don’t allow band switching if using the AT command interface

There are MAC commands that server can send to nodes to change or create new channels.
These commands are intended to be sent after the join procedure although can be sent whenever.