GPS coordinates updated every second (Sailboat tracking)

Good day everyone,

I am pretty new to Lora(wan) and I was wondering if I could use Lora(wan) to track a fleet of sailboats in a regatta. Most tracking software companies are very expensive, some use GPRS, some use 868 MHz (Lora) to receive GPS data from each participating boat.

• Is it possible to modify a tracking system to update it’s posistion every second?
  • Is it allowed to send that amount of data (battery life is not my concern, it should last 6-8 hours)
  • How many receiver / gateways would I need to track approx 60 boats?
  • Should I create my own Lora network or could I use LoraWan (I own concentrators from Dragino)
  • Which GPS tracking devices would you recommend?

I would like to develop a much cheaper way to track boats in a race, the races usually take place max 3-4 km out of shore. In most cases, there is no issue setting up antenna’s and Lora receivers locally (so LoraWan would not be absolutely needed)

Thanks for your help.

1 Like

Hi @IT-Gypsy, that’s a lot of questions! My thoughts relate to the EU_863_870 spectrum and regulations.

Tracking system update per second. Not using LoRaWAN due to 1% duty cycle. Might be possible using LoRa with Listen Before Talk (LBT).

Allowed to send that much data: Not with LoRaWAN in EU due to 1% duty cycle. Might be possible using LoRa with Listen Before Talk (LBT) on multiple channels.

How many receiver/gateway: Assuming LoRa you should think about 8 (?) receivers, each one on a different radio frequency. Spread the vessel senders across the frequencies.

Own LoRa or LoRaWAN: I think that this would have to be a complete own-build using LoRa. Build your own vessel GPS and TX devices. Build your own LoRa RX devices. Build your own back-end software.

Which GPS tracker: I am not aware of any commercial LoRaWAN GPS tracker that will do anything close to this. I think that you would have to build your own trackers to go on the vessels.