GPS Device across different Frequency Regions

Hello,

i am new to LoRaWAN and have the task to create a GPS-End-Device thats used to track a car.
I learned that the LoRa Frequency is different depending on where you live.
So my question is, are End-Devices able to change there frequency automaticaly when they for example travel from Europe to North America? Two different frequencies but one global network (ttn).

Thanks in advance. Sorry if thats already answered in a FAQ. I couldnt find anything.

Current LoRa modules are designed specifically for a particular frequency band. To move between regions (and bands) you would need (with current technology) a module for each frequncy range and likley seperate antennas too.

Thanks for the answer.
I found Devices that support dual frequency but i dont know if it can change automatically or just broadcasts on both frequencies at the same time. I guess no one travels across different regions in this community.

That is never an option. The frequencies allowed in the USA are used by mobile providers in Europe, so transmissions would interfere with commercial radio spectrum users. Something like that applies for EU frequencies in the USA.

Depending on the LoRaWAN stack used you might be able to reset and reinitialize it for use on the other side of the pond. Check Microchips offering, their SAM R34 Xplained Pro Evaluation Kit example code should be multi region.

Yes, there is a dual frequency device, and you need two antennas really. That device is not enough for Worldwide operation.

Its not that “I guess no one travels across different regions in this community” at all, but that the regulators in charge of frequency allocations have not seen fit to provide a single, Worldwide, licence excempt frequency band that could be used, nothing the TTN community can do about that.

Thank you for the answer.