Hello , I want to implement LORA netwotk for measuring Silo level

Hello

I’m interested in Ultrasonic silo level measurement I need it to sense pekan nuts level on multiple silos.

I have no previous knowledge on how LoRa networks work, I did some research but it’s not clear to me what else do I need to make an end device sensor work as an IoT device please note I don’t have any infrastructure such as gateways/nodes could and I’m not clear on what I need to get started testing.

I attached pictures of my client’s plant, please note there is 200 silos and its a

electrically noisy environment
I’ve researched and liked these sensors from [https://www.tindie.com/products/edwin/llds12-lorawan-lidar-tof-distance-sensor/]

So, what else should I need to get started testing besides the sensor ?
How can i collect data?
Thanks
I appreciate any help :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:
I attached some pictures

WhatsApp Image 2020-08-10 at 4.26.05 PM (1) (1) WhatsApp Image 2020-08-10 at 4.26.05 PM (2) WhatsApp Image 2020-08-10 at 4.34.26 PM (1) pekan nut

I’ve done a lot of work in Grain Silos. The first question, does your client require the electrical equipment to be Dust Ignition Proof or something similar, for example Intrinsically Safe?

Looking at the light fitting in the second photo, I suspect there could be some requirement.

This will become the first filter you use when selecting sensor hardware.

1 Like

Do you already have any kind of level indicator? If you are lucky you could get data from an existing sensor.

If you don’t already have a sensor, what kind of data do you want to collect? e.g. silo level (analog from empty to full), silo weight (0 kg to big-number kg), silo level limit switch (on/off = full/not full).