Heltec Cubecell: downlink messages of unknown origin

I got a Heltec Cubecell board to use it as a ttnmapper together with my mobile phone.

I took the the example code “LoraWAN” for the Heltec Cubecell board and modified it so it sends a null message (appDataSize = 0;). LORAWAN_NETMODE is set to OTAA, LORAWAN_UPLINKMODE is set to UNCONFIRMED, ADR is off since the node is intended to move around. Region is EU868

When I start the node the uplink works as expected. But every uplink (“payload not provided”, as intended, airtime about 42 ms) is followed by a downlink transmission, airtime slightly above 700 ms. Payload is 907 times the letter “B”.

Serial monitor says repeetedly: “unconfirmed uplink sending …”

Hmm.

This is not what I expected but as a newbie I have no idea where this behavior might come from.

Any hints what I might do?

(ttnmapper works with this setup but I do not want to create that much downlink activity wherever it comes from …)

Thank you!

Where are you seeing that? I assume only in the serial monitor, but not in TTN Console?

That is far above the LoRaWAN limit of 235 bytes for the total packet size (in best conditions for EU868). And as far as I know that 235 bytes is based on LoRa limits. So, this cannot be a downlink originating from TTN. As it’s not originating from TTN, your device should also not be able to validate and decrypt it, so the LoRaWAN stack on your device should not have bothered your application code with that.

So either the LoRaWAN stack on your device is doing something wrong, or your own code is erroneously thinking it got a downlink. For the latter you’re probably just seeing the random contents of some memory location. (Hexadecimal 0x42, not to be interpreted as the letter B.) So, time to show the code!

1 Like