How not to get started - My early mistakes

I thought I would share my story so far to get my early mistakes off my chest!

I am a recently retired school teacher who has always had an interest in electronics. Over the year I have made several purchases from aliexpress.com with the aim of actually making something but never got round to it. Recently I came across an article in HackSpace about Lora and decided I would try to set up a datalogging system for my allotment (about 500m from my house).

My first mistake was not to do sufficient reading in advance, but knowing that anything I bought would take a month to arrive I jumped straight in and bought some items from Aliexpress. The article contained a reference to The Things Gateway which was a bit more expensive thanwhat I was willing to spend at the time but at least it introduced me to TTN.

My first purchase was two Elecrow RFM69 Shield for Arduino RFM69HCW Radio Module Electronic DIY Fans Student Maker Project DIY Kit (£8.50 each). It looked distinctly like the shield I saw on ttn. It wasn’t until after they arrived that I noticed that the chip was RFM69HCW and discovered this was Packet Radio (not Lora).

Mistake 1 - Check what you are buying!

My next purchase was two E32-868T20D Lora Long Range UART SX1276 868mhz 100mW SMA Antenna IoT uhf Wireless Transceiver Transmitter Receiver Modules (£4.29 each). This had the key word Lora in it so I thought I was on safe ground. It wasn’t until they arrived that I read that while they were indeed Lora, they could only talk to each other and wouldn’t work with a gateway which was now becoming my preferred option.

Mistake 2 - Lora is not LoraWan