How to recreate a join accept downlink message in LoRaWAN?

In the last months i’m working on my PhD thesis, which involves breaking LoRaWAN in a few ways (i’m studying cybersecuriy) and i’m 1mm near to my goal, but i’m quite stuck on a simple thing. I’m using libellium board with a Microchip RN2483A lora chip mounted on it and i’m playing around with it. I’ve managed to send arbitrary pre-made join requests to a real gateway/network server and now i’m finally able to read downlink packets all around me (i’ve spent two days to figure out that downlink messages are done using inverse polarization, i was going mad because of it). The next step i need is to recreate, using my board, a downlink packet, specifically a join-accept one.

Using my custom code on a board i’m able to send a custom join request and get the relative join-accept, but when i send out a packet using the same transmission parameters (using another board) my board seems to ignore it. What can it be?

join request (sent by me) parameters: frequency 868.1, radio power 15, spreading factor 12, coding rate 4/5, bandwidth 125Khz, crc mode ON

join accept receiving configuration (working): the same but using frequency 869,525 (i’m waiting on the RxWindow 2) and inverted polarization

So i assumed i just need to send the fake join accept packet using the same configuration i used to receive the real one from the real gatway, but it didn’t work. What am i missing?

N.B. i have access to real and already accepted join-accept, and i can reset my board so i’m sure it’s not a problem with integrity or memory of the board.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Do you expect the forum to respond and tell you how to send a ‘fake join accept packet’ ?

(assuming its possible)

it is possible for sure, and i’m doing this for security researches, i’m a good guy here ahahahah