How to understand the transmission time on air?

hey guys,
i am studying LoRa recently.
In sx127x Datasheet, it says the lora phy frame is consist of preamble, header, payload, and payload crc.
especially, the header is within a code rate of 4/8.
But in the calculation of Time on Air,
it says, nPayload = 8 + max(ceil((8PL-4SF+28+16CRC-20IH)/4(SF-2DE))*(CR+4),0)
how to understand the calculation of the payload?
is the 20IH means the length of the header?
but header is within a code rate of 4/8, isn’t it?
why we calculate the header and payload together within the same code rate?
I would be grateful if someone could help me.

1 Like

What is the reason for asking about the formulae ?

I have been using LoRa since circa 2014 and whilst the total time on air of a packet is of interest, there are published calculators for that, so I never had any need to use or understand the formulae in the datasheet.

Maybe could be a question for the Semtech forums ?

Because I want to calculate the transmission time of the header separately.
But I found the equation is too strange to understand.

Additionally, I find another interesting thing.
In sx1302_hal(GitHub - Lora-net/sx1302_hal: SX1302/SX1303 Hardware Abstraction Layer and Tools (packet forwarder...))
sx1302 gives two timestamps, and the precision timestamp gives a timestamp at the end of the header. (in loragw_sx1302_timestamp.h)

/**
@brief Configure the SX1302 to output legacy timestamp or precision timestamp
@note  Legacy timestamp gives a timestamp latched at the end of the packet
@note  Precision timestamp gives a timestamp latched at the end of the header
@note  and additionally supplies metrics every N symbols troughout the payload.
@param enable_precision_ts  A boolean to enable precision timestamp output.
@param max_ts_metrics       The number of timestamp metrics to be returned when precision timestamp is enabled
@param nb_symbols           The sampling rate of timestamp metrics