iC880A receive and send

Hi everyone,
I’m fairly new to LoRa and so far I’ve created an RN2483 shield for Teensy, RPi and USB as nodes.
I would like to setup a gateway and I’ve been looking at the iC880A, but one thing is uncertain to me. Is it possible to also send messages from this gateway? For example I would setup the node to send a message and then listen for one minute. The gateway should receive the message and if needed, send an instruction message back. Can the iC880A accomplish this or would I need to add an RN2483 to the gateway just for sending messages? Alternatively, is this why some gateways are so expensive, being able to Rx and Tx? Or is the price difference mainly in capacity?

Thanks!

RN2483 modules adhere to LoRaWAN class A. This means after a transmission they are able to receive data in the RX1 slot (currently 1 second after transmission) and RX2 slot (2 seconds after transmission). Listening for 1 minute is not possible with the current firmware.

The iC880A is able to send data to any node adhering to the LoRaWAN standard. Keep in mind a gateway can not receive data from any node while it is transmitting.

Thanks for the clarification. What distinguishes a class A device from class C? For example if I wanted to use the node to light an LED, I would need it to be listening most of the time.

https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/wiki/LoRaWAN/Home

1 Like