I'm storing all this data on AWS...now what?

Sorry for the vague title, but I hope this can be a good discussion of options for analyzing and visualizing data. Spoiler alert: I’m fairly new to AWS, so I can see high level possibilities, but don’t understand enough about implementation to know which direction to go. In addition, while I may be able to make things work, I’m also interested in learning better ways to do things.

For reference, I’m working on “yet another vineyard project”: collecting weather and other data from tens of sensors on roughly a minute schedule. I’ve been pleased by the ease of setup and the general reliability of TTN. I can make some graphs (see below), but ultimately, I’d like to make spatial graphs and other things beyond simple line graphs. AWS QuickSight seems like a good platform for this, but that’s just one option is a sea of possibilities, I’m sure.

Here’s what I have done:

• I’ve created an AWS IoT integration and even actions to send the data to a DynamoDB. I can see the data in the tables, but I don’t know where to go from there.
  • I’ve created an HTTP integration that sends data to a LAMP stack on an EC2 instance and stores data in a MySQL database. From that, I can make basic line graphs (temperature over time) using highcharts.

But that’s where I’m stuck. Every web search brings up a different solution, so I’d like to get opinions.

• QuickSight has easy integrations with RDS, but not (amazingly) DynamoDB. So getting the data into RDS seems like a good idea. I don’t have so much data that I need a hugely scalable NoSQL database.
  • To get data into RDS, I see two options:
  1. Keep doing essentially what I’m doing with the HTTP integration, but connect to RDS instead of the MySQL database on my virtual EC2 instance. I’ve done a tutorial on that – it mostly makes sense but I need to sit down and figure out security groups.