Is there a current how to make a gateway for TTN from pi3

Hello, I’m a total newbie with lora and lorawan. There is no TTN gateway in my town (Cherbourg France) only the pay for professional ones.
I would like to experiment with lora and lorawan with arduino for agronomical and meteorological purpose so I’m considering building a TTN gateway .
I’ve got a spare pi 3, an internet connection.
Is there somewhere a step by step explanation for that with the current version of TTN? I’ve found one for V2 with non current lora hat.
Thank you a lot

If you have the SPI hardware (concentrator) to connect to a raspi, V3 is the same with V2 for gateways. In my case I just changed the server_address in a json file from router.eu.thethings.network (V2) to eu1.cloud.thethings.network.

Not using raspi - but I suppose it’s the same.

For concentrator buy SX1302 or SX1303 (extreme temperatures), not SX1308. SX1302 is the newest with two times more demodulators and it needs 10 times less wattage. 20 times more efficient :stuck_out_tongue:

There is a lot to say about DIY gateways. Before I get there, I want to mention that DIY, financially, cannot compete with what available in the market, either second hand or new.

Second hand: there are hundreds of Helium miners for prices as low as 100 euro on the web. These are easily converted to gateways that can connect to LNS like TTN CE. Please pay attention to the fact that they should be RPI -based as this simplifies the software. with this gateway you can have the DIY experince on a software level. (and a bit of hacking :wink:)

New: There are cheap off-the-shelve gateways available like the TTIG (+/- €110) or the Mikrotik wAP8 (+/- € 160). No DIY experience but a quick and stable go-live.

DIY: Going DIY will feed your knowledge incentive on both hard- and software. DIY is likely to be more expensive than the previous options. From my experince I suggest two options.

1. Use the RAK5146 PiHAT Kit for LoRaWAN or,