Laird RG191 working in Australia

Hi, I’m in Australia, I’d like to set up a public TTN gateway and I’m a little short of time to fiddle with RPi and RAK831.

Has anyone used the Laird RG191 on AU band plan?

It’s $327.60 from Digikey.

Anyone?

It’s designed for 915 and mentions US, but i’m hoping it can be configured for AU band plan.

Sorry @Megabyte I think all the Australians must be asleep (or at the beach perhaps!).

Unfortunately I have no experience with the Laird gateway you mention, however there is a large TTN meeting tonight in Perth so I will ask around and see if anyone has used them.

Phil

Thanks Phil!

@Megabyte I asked around at the Perth event and unfortunately nobody I spoke with had experience with these units. They have a good price and you can order them through mouser quickly, so I am a little surprised.

Common units in use were Multitech and ActiveX.

Sorry I couldn’t be of more help…

Thanks for the feedback Phil. I hadn’t heard of the ActiveX version yet so I’ll look into that one too.

Cheers!

Hey @Megabyte, I’ve talk to laird about the RG191 there but unfortunately there isn’t a Australian version (Australian Lorawan frequency bands) at the moment, I’ve got my fingers crossed they will start supporting Australia with their line up of lorawan products sometime in the future.

Cheers
Adam.

I don’t have the 915Mhz version to test this, but pretty sure you can choose “download current configuration as JSON” under LoRa -> Advanced which give you a file very similar to the the one TTN provides:

change the one from the gateway to match the frequencies listed on the TTN one then upload the changed JSON file back using the “upload a custom configuration JSON file”.

Underneath it’s just running the normal Semtech packet forwarder so I can’t imagine this wouldn’t work. You might even be able to just upload the TTN file over without any changes.