Lora GPS tracker to be used with thethingsnetwork

Hi all,
Im planning to install a gateway to support thethingsnetwork because I think its great!
Im pretty new to the whole lora thing. Im partucular intrested in lora gps tracking.

But one question what comes when looking for such device. For example

Is this device bound to be used at a specific loranetwork or are the gps updates received by any gateway of any lorawan within range? Can I use it with thethingsnetwork for example?

Another thing is what I dont quit understand is. if I have a loraGPS which communicated with thethingsnetwork, how do I get this from thethingsnetwork to my linux server.

Do I need to call a API or something @ my server to extract the data from the sensor?

2 Likes

Your developer does have a point, assuming you adhere to the fair use limits of 30 seconds air time per day.

A TTN GPS location packet is 22 bytes.

At SF7 a GPS location packet takes 56.6mS of airtime and allows for 30000/56.6 = 530 packets per day.
At SF12 a GPS location packet takes 1319mS of airtime and allows for 30000/1319 = 22 packets per day.

So if the vehicle is always close to a gatewway then the tracking might work, but if its not and the node goes into SF12 mode, the number of packets allowed is so low as to be not very useful at all.

2 Likes

The fair access policy of TTN is stricter than duty cycle limitations. You could check the Professional or Enterprise versions of TTN, maybe they are more relaxed (but not totally).

My TTN GPS-location only uses 19 bytes, bit less resolution and some restrictions on where usage is possible. The 3 bits less is worth it for me.

Yeah I understand the issue. There is a limited amount of airtime so a limit amount of data we can sent. But let me put it another way: