LPS8 and LDS03A - Range

I am TOTALLY new to LORA and LORAWAN but have an extensive IT background along with various home automation technologies (zwave/zigbee etc). I picked up a LPS8 and a LDS03A with the intention of doing a mailbox notify sensor because our mailbox is about 1/3 of a mile away. I have the open/close notification from the sensor working on my LDS03A and I see the MQTT messages ok. The problem is, I took the door sensor out of the house yesterday to see if I could reach from the mail box and nothing. I came back 1/2 way back up the drive, tried again, nothing. I pulled up to where I could see the house from the car, tried again - nothing. Also of note - I’m in a VERY rural area - it is hilly and very wooded. Get back in the house, try and sure enough, it works.

I feel like I’m missing some kind of transmission power setting or some kind of setting somewhere. I’m so new I’m not sure where to troubleshoot and got to wondering if the LPS8 is not enough gateway/range for sensors like this. Reading indicates it ‘should’ be from what I can tell, but maybe I’m wrong. The LPS8 is sitting on a dresser in my bedroom (aka - the highest point in the house where I have ethernet). I’ve checked the antenna on the LDS03A and it appears to be connected. Any ideas/tips/tricks?

I’d appreciate any help anyone can offer or documentation on how to troubleshoot signal strength etc. Thanks in advance, I appreciate any and all help!

You would get a far better idea of whether there is a range issue, if you put the Gateway on a windowsill so that the gateway antenna has a very clear view of the outside world.

Then, when outside, how far away from the gateway\window, does the door sensor work ?

Will give that a shot and see how it goes - appreciate the input!