Multitech Gateway Conduit AEP Network Interface

Hello , I changed the network interface configuration to DHCP Client and I can’t access the AEP anymore (192.168.2.1) can somone help me please ?

1 Like

As you said, you changed it to be a DHCP client, so it needs a DHCP server to listen to.

Plug your device into something that has a DHCP server (like your router), and then connect to it through that :wink:

The device doesn’t listen to the 192.168.2.1 address as it’s not configured as a static IP any more. It will be assigned an IP address by your router now.

2 Likes

Alright Thank you ! I didn’t have a router around me so I just did it with DHCP server for windows.
I’m quite new to this so I’m a bit lost haha !
So it works, thanks again !

1 Like

Well, I have another problem :frowning_face:
I changed back network interface communication back to default, but I can’t access it anymore.
Should I just reset my multitech at this point ?

Hi again!

I’ve never used the AEP version (only mLinux) so I’m not sure how the interface works. It’s likely that you set it back to Static, but did you configure the IP address again? If you didn’t check it, it could be anything now.

If you did ensure that it’s on 192.168.2.1, ensure that your computers networking is also static. Ensure your computer is manually set to:
IP: 192.168.2.2
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.2.1
I don’t know if you already did this, but it’s good to make sure.

If the above doesn’t work and you don’t know the IP, you have two options:

1. Use the included USB serial port and manually set the networking through command line (you need Linux command line experience for this)
  2. Just reset the device and start over.

I don’t know how familiar you are with Linux CLI, but if you aren’t, it makes a whole load of difference when dealing with these kinds of products. Remember: There’s a whole operating system under there, which you can do whatever you want with if you know what you’re doing!

1 Like