My Greenhouse Node

Hey Guys,
I’m new to The Things Network and need a few tipps.
What I want to do is:
Connect my ofgrid Greenhouse to the IoT to manage Water and Ventilation Systems.
Build another Node to messure Temperature and Moisture in my vineyard.

My Questions:
Which hardware do you recomment to start with ( Gateway, Node, …)? I 'll be glad if there are more than one suggestions so I can build my own opinion.

Do I need a Gateway, or can I use TTN without one ?

Distances between nodes and my living place are maximum 2000m. But there is no direct view.
Might this be a problem?

Happy to found this forum.

Manuel

LoRaWAN (with TTN) is not suited for real-time control. You will have at least minutes delay, possibly up to hours when sending data to a node.
You can use LoRaWAN if you implement the logic in the greenhouse and use the nodes to monitor or send (infrequent) parameter updates to the nodes.

Hello kersing, thanks for you answer. I don’t want a realtime control. I want to monitor when, e.g. watering begins, temperature is too high etc. The logic of the greenhouse should be implemented there, not in the network.
Maybe my questions were not precise enough.
Manuel

Reporting conditions at a slow period, or when the sprinklers kick on could indeed be a sensible use case.

Bear in mind though that building a system to run at the far end of such a narrow pipe can cost a lot of effort. If there’s one greenhouse, putting an embedded system you can actually ssh into on an LTE modem may be worth the monthly cost - then you can go in, examine full logs, patch your python script or whatever runs things, get a picture off a webcam, etc.