New asset tracking project

Hello TTN community,

I am pretty new to this stuff but totally excited for this one.

Was browsing the internet looking for GSM alternatives to GPS trackers and that’s when I came across LoRa. I am trying to build a project consisting in tracking assets like laptops so the end product would have to be quite small to fit inside one. Also would need to keep the price relatively down to justify the project (some laptops are gen 5-6 and not quite worth spending £100+ to track them).

I am thinking of tapping into the laptop rails (to charge the battery which would be a small one) to power up the device.

To point out the requirements, I am considering the following ;
1.GPS signal to be transmitted weekly
2.Manage the tracker so I can lower the transmit time in case of theft or loss
3.Battery life should be okish as it wont be transmitting daily
4.Size relatively small to fit inside the hdd bay area(or somewhere else)
5.Wifi is optional**

I can use the in built wi-fi of the device and connect it to the laptop hotspot that would be forced in azure policy and that would be used daily until theft or loss and that where LoRa comes in.

I am open to any suggestion and am gaining knowledge daily by looking at projects and stuff but as I am quite a beginner to TTN could really appreciate a little direction.

Many thanks and can’t wait to be an active part of this wonderful community.

Edit:
There are some gateways in London and I assume they are accessible to the public(that’s what I’ve come to understand from google xD)
Would the tracking device be able to upload the location to the satellites passing above UK and therefore to the TTN ?

Welcome!

What is the problem you are trying to solve - I’d guess at college assets vs students?