New TTNer, hello, getting started and advice please!

Hi all

I’m new to LORA, LORAWAN and TTN. I found this after being given some cheap walkie-talkie radios and doing some research. I in turn found Peter Misenko’s (bobricius on github) Armachat and then Andreas Spiess’ videos on Youtube.

Still not put off, I started investigating, discovered TTN and realised there isn’t a gateway close by. I’ve decided to go all in and build an outdoor gateway as per the instructions here: Home · ttn-zh/ic880a-gateway Wiki · GitHub

My iMST iC880a is supposed to arrive today. I still have a few parts to decide on and order.

I have set myself a challenge though. The gateway must be, as far as possible, eco-friendly and wire-free. It will of course connect to my Wi-Fi for backhaul but will otherwise be totally off-grid. It must be solar-powered, run from a Raspberry Pi Zero W, with a suitable UPS hat and have enough battery capacity to comfortably run through the night even in Winter in the UK. I have ordered the RPi, UPS hat and gateway board already.

I would however appreciate any advice offered on the build as I have never setup such a device before.

I do not have a RPi to iMST iC880a back plane as all the ones I’ve found are currently unavailable. If no such thing is available, I will have to resort to jumper wires.

The antenna will be mounted on top of a TV aerial pole above a 2 story house. I have absolutely no idea though what antenna to use to provide the best coverage possible in area. After much reading, this seems to be something of a minefield. If there’s a particular thing people can recommend or someone who would be willing to make one that would work brilliantly, please let me know.

Once my gateway is up and running, I look forward to seeing what I can achieve with it.

Thank you

mikeyp