Newbie trying to create a test system

Hi, I am new to LoRa and I am trying to get my head around setting up a bit of a test system with the hopes of moving it forward. Here is what I am looking to achieve in this test:

• Gateway with a range of 50+ km (longer the better, it will be on a tall tower 30+’ high, and very sparse land with just some rocky hills and almost no trees.)
  • Plan for keeping it warm as it could get colder than -45 deg C
  • Small self contained nodes that can be carried. These would not see cold. tracking Position and preferably speed as well.

I am looking to use the gateway as a gatekeeper. Anything within the radius of my gateway would show position and speed) I am then looking to integrate that data with a custom built application (asp.net mvc).

Located in Canada.

I am just starting to sift through the amazing amount of information, so if this is something already touched on. I am searching in the mean time!

Thank you everyone and forgive me if I am not using correct terms or provided enough detail.

If your using TTN, then study the fair use policy carefully;

A particular point is that GPS location\speed tracking, especially at the long distances you suggest, would severly limit the number of transmissions from a node.

Technically feasible, well within LoRaWAN capability - if implemented well, dont get seduced by exotic claims or high gain (dBi) antennas, its down to same core silicon and core physics with the engineering making the difference - few connectors, low loss cable between GW & Ant, and above all get height! Limiter will actually be topology of the land…even small undulations or outcrops as you move to the far field of range will effectivly mask signals.