No connection to the TTN

Hello everybody,

This is my first time using The Things Network for a project and I am experiencing quite some trouble. I am trying to connect my Arduino Pro Mini (https://www.makerfabs.com/maduino-lora-radio-433m-868m-915m.html) to a gateway in my area (approx. 50meter) and it just doesn’t work. Since it is my first time working with the TTN, I am following tutorials to upload “Hello world !” (the code made by Matthijs Koojiman) to the TTN. By following the tutorials step by step and understanding about everything. I compiled the code and didn’t get any errors, but I am getting the following on my serial monitor :

And then absolutely nothing happens, I am not getting anything on my TTN account. As said above I am new to this so maybe I made a very obvious mistake but I really don’t know what it could be. I did change the frequencies, the pins, the device EUI (lsb), application EUI (lsb) and app Key (msb).

If you have any idea what I could be doing wrong please let me know, it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance !!!

Hello! The device is sending out a join request but not hearing anything back.

The first thing to do is to swap over to ABP as that doesn’t require your device to hear a join response.

However there is a possibility that the local gateway isn’t operating as it should or expected or even on - if you look at the map on TTNMapper.org you should get an idea of when it was last operational.

If you can look at these two first and let us know the results / detail.

1 Like