Packet delay calculation

Hello, forum.
I am new to the LoRaWAN technology is there any way to calculate the packet delay.
when I send my packet from the end node (Arduino) I have the real-time from the serial port but when I received it by the TTN it’s not obvious. It showed the air time that depends on some parameters (SF, BW,freq, payload size) and it easy to calculate ** and its not depend on the distance.**
so if I send the packet with 3 KM it does not take the same time as when I send it with 100 M. so where I can find the time that is received by the gateway to calculate the time delay.
1-can I say the timestamp (the server time) is the real-time that received by the gateway and what is the Z letter at the end ??
2-the normal time that showed in the gateway traffic or the application one represents as the hour, min, second, and what I need is more accurate (the fraction).
thanks for all the efforts2fourm
fourm

Why do you want to know the delay ?

1 Like

You may be confusing ToF with TDoA, Time-of-flight vs Time-difference-of-arrival

https://www.digikey.com/en/articles/simplifying-time-of-flight-distance-measurements
3 km at 300,000 km/s is 10 micro-seconds
100 m at 300,000 km/s is 0.333 micro-seconds

To measure time-of-flight you need an accurate clock on the sending side and a time-stamp. End-devices do not have a nano-second accurate clock, they will drift at several ppm.

For TDoA you need accurate time-stamps at the gateway. Only the Semtech v2 gateways are currently capable of providing nano-second time-stamp for TDoA. Most gateways on the market will be v1.5 versions without this capability.

1 Like

Hi @haidarm,

ref your Q1; The timestamp shown is the time as received by the network server. The timestamp is in ISO8601 format. The “Z” on the end is for “Zulu” time which is UTC.