Private use of LoRaWAN gateway & ensuring devices use it

Hi Team,

I am new to LoRaWAN/TTN/IoT and have two very specific questions for which I cannot find a satisfactory answer on the internet yet. Could you please see if you can answer these?

1. If I have a LoRaWAN gateway and only need to use it for my private use (let’s say I don’t want others to use it), is there any way we can achieve this?

2. How can I ensure that my end-device uses my gateway? Is there any way in the gateway’s live data to detect which end-devices are using my gateway (as of now, I only see the gateway status messages)? I am using ‘The Things Kickstarter Gateway v1’ for my learning purpose.

I would really appreciate your help with this.

1. Build you own LNS
  2. Build you own LNS
  1. Yes if you install your own LoRaWAN network server and point your gateway to it.

2. Yes and no. LoRaWAN devices will transmit and anyone in radio range will be able to receive the transmissions including other LoRaWAN networks. However only one network will have the encryption keys required to decrypt the data. Keep in mind not all of the LoRaWAN packet is encrypted, some information is plain text.

Keep in mind this forum is for The Things Network, a public community driven network. So we’re not about private networks…

The detailed answer is “no not really”.

A gateway is an RF to UDP media convertor - any valid LoRaWAN packets are relayed to the LNS that the gateway is registered on, only there is the packet processed. If the packet is from a device that is not registered on that LNS then it is silently dropped. Usually this is asked by someone trying to protect their bandwidth - on any normal internet connection the usage is minimal compared to a website that unexpectedly drops a video advert in the corner, if you are deploying via mobile then you are out of luck!