RAK5146 Gateway for sx1262 Devices

I am really new to the world of IoT. Since I live on a farm, my devices are a bit furter spread than the wifi. I recently baught some LoRa devices to play arround.
Pico-Lora sx1262 868
and sx1262 868 LoRa Hat
The plan was to connect them point to point. I failed miserably. I might have to go a step further and join the hings Network.

I am considering to buy one of these:
RAK5146 PiHAT Kit for LoRaWAN
There is a nice tutorial available how to set it up as a gateway using a raspberry and it is quite cheap. Since I already struggle with the setup and all the coding I would really like to know ahead if it is really possible to get it to work.

Does this work well together with the enddevices I already have?
Does anyone allready have experience what range I might get with this setup?

Thanks for any insights!

No technical reason why not.

You can use RadioLib to run the Pico-LoRa SX1262

Coding the SX1262 Pi HAT has challenges due to timing issues with Linux and generally not recommended.

LoRaWAN is a well defined standard, the interoperability is relatively assured and the hardware you’ve listed with the appropriate software like RadioLib will enable you to use them.

However you do need to be able to do medium level coding as a minimum. For point to point the GitHub - sandeepmistry/arduino-LoRa: An Arduino library for sending and receiving data using LoRa radios. is as simple as it gets. The LoRaWAN libraries are a whole new level.

You may find it simpler to buy already built devices. Once you have LoRaWAN 101 under your belt, then you can revisit making your own.