Really hard to get full into TTN

I saw some videos on YouTube from Andreas Spiess, and found LoRa really interesting, so I ordered some gateway parts and some node parts to try it out.

The gateway from n-fuse was easy to set up and it was running the same day I recieved it. And I changed already the host the gateway is running on multiple times without any problems, be it Windows or Raspberry Pi or amd64-Linux.

BUT, setting up a node seems to be a real pain in the ***. Of course, I’m a newb to LoRa, so the learning curve was expected to be steep, BUT really that steep? For me it was easier to get a FPGA running and being usable than setting up a LoRa-Node.

Sure, I should have known that “LoRa” doesn’t mean it could connect to TTN, so my first attempt with E32-868T20D was a failure. Now I know it, but there should be more infos here, what to use and what not.

Now I’m trying to get a TTGO-T-Beam up and running, and nothing from TTN is hindering me, but the imcompatibilities of the Arduino libraries regarding “serial” and “pyserial” are driving me nuts.

All in all it is a very unpleasant experience to get into LoRa. And I know what an early adopter is, I’m vaping for more than 8 years and my first electric car I got 5 years ago.

There should be a step by step guide here, with a recommended list of CHEAP items to try out LoRa and TTN.

1 Like

Have you checked the LABS section of the website? There are a number of options listed. For a basic setup you could start with this one.

BTW, you could check if there is a TTN (related) meetup happening in your part of the world and visit it to get advice from people with experience. We (TTN Groningen) have run several node building workshops to get people started over the years. (like this one)

1 Like