Repurposing Helium Hotspot as TTN Gateway?

I’m new to LoRa, but not new to software, DIY projects, Linux, and tech in general. I’ve watched a good number of YT videos (mainly from Andreas Spiess, “The Guy with the Swiss Accent”) that were instrumental in my wanting to build/buy/install my own TTN gateway. I dig the ethos. Plus, my part of the greater Seattle metro area lacks TTN coverage.

I understand that Helium is its own network (with so little actual paid device packet traffic that it can’t possibly be viable outside the crypto-sphere). I also see a number of (sometimes brand new) Helium devices on eBay (the RAK and the SenseCAP M1) for decently low prices.

However, until I did a google image search to determine what was inside those things, I was unaware that they contained a RPi 4 and a mico-pcie hat, basically.

I have yet to find a good article that answers the following things…

• Is it the OS installed on those “hotspots” that makes them “Helium” devices, or is the LoRa tranceiver card somehow locked to that OS, restricting it to the Helium ecosystem?
  • It must be possible to simply install Raspbian (or DietPi) and install whatever is required for a TTN Gateway, right?

I’ve found only a handful of forum posts on TTN that seem to address repurposing. One devolved into a discussion of a gateway participating in BOTH TTN/Helium. To be clear, I don’t want that

Rather, I want to repurpose a pre-owned Helium hotspot, ditch all of its Helium-ness, and use it as a TTN Gateway.

I found one post with a comment that says the SenseCAP M1 can be repurposed. I’m surprised, though, that this isn’t a more common topic. (Or maybe I’ve not searched with sufficient keywords. Or maybe it’s just so obvious a use case that no one writes about it?)

Is there a reason to avoid repurposing a Helium device for TTN use? Is there a reason there aren’t more posts where people have done it?

Thank you in advance and I look forward to participating on a hardware level soon.