RN2483 timing

Hi there,

I started playing with a RN2483 module (Firmware 1.0.5) which is generally working fine.

I wonder about the timing. e.g.

I send “mac join otaa” and receive “ok” and after some time “accepted”.
What is the maximum time between “ok” and “accepted”? I would like to use a timeout in my program if something hangs and therefore require the maximum time to wait.

The same applies to “max tx uncf …” or “mac tx cnf …”. I receive “ok” and “mac_tx_ok” after some time. I would like to use a timeout as well if something hangs.

With best regards

Chris

How about reading the documentation?

For unconfirmed transmissions you are dealing with the receive delays so basically max 2 seconds for the windows and the time involved in receiving a max length packet at the slowest data rate.
For OTAA joins and confirmed transmissions things are not so simple as there may be multiple (re)transmissions involved. What is documented regarding the max number of retransmissions and number of OTAA join attempts? And what regarding the influence of data rates?

Thanks for the quick reply.

At the moment I use 5 seconds of timeout for uncnf. messages since this should provide a good safety margin with the 2 seconds rx2 window and the packet size (I must admit I did a bit of reading docs but probably not enough). What worries me more are join and confirmed messages. I have some experience with LMIC+Mega328+RFM95 and discovered sometimes very slow join (though I did relax timing, change gateway and so on, but I do need a bulletproof stable node which I can hopefully achieve with RN2483). So far RN2483 joins always within a few seconds, but the gateway is close and not much traffic in the area. I will further check docs.

With best regards

Chris