Simple LoRaWAN GPS tracking unit - First unit for bike tracking project

I am looking for advice and options for a GPS lorawan unit. I have a small personal project that I want to put a tracker on my motorcycle and hook it up to our local TTN.

I dont know anything about electronics and the small cicuit board type components that I see are a mytsery to me, but I am keen to learn if someone coudl please give some advice? I have looked at the Digital Matter Oyster which looks perfect and provev, but it’s also a bit out of my budget.

Can anyone provide some basic ideas about a unit I could buy? I’m looking for something with a reasonable range and I am not too concerned about battery life at this stage.
I’ve looked at https://heltec.org/product/wifi-lora-32-v2/ and I am not even sure if it will do what I am looking for?
I am looking at the Heltec options and I am justnot quite sure how they go together?

Any help for a total beginner would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hello,

Here is a fun project I found recently - How to build a Raspberry Pi GPS Tracker. I just received the material, did not have the time to test it yet. I like the idea to receive data by SMS.

Otherwise, I have successfully tested the USB/TTL Raspberry Pi GPS Tracker, which was easy to set up thanks to the USB connector. Have a look also here https://www.dfrobot.com/search-gps%20module.html

1 Like

I don’t think you’ll be able to find anything much cheaper than DigitalMatter’s Oyster, but take a look at their Yabby Edge and Browan’s object locator.

1 Like

Look at TTGO T-Beam!

E_T

A pi is pretty much non-viable in that application given the power consumption. It’s also wholly unnecessary. A tracker is a job for a flash based MCU spending 99.9% of its time in low power suspend.