STM32WL-Nucelo

Hi, I am new to LoraWan and want to connect my STM32WL-Nucelo board to the TTN network here in the UK based in Lancashire. I do not have a Gateway as I want to connect to a nearby public one.
Is this possible to do by just registering the Node which I’ve done?
I have downloaded the ST LoraWan_AT_Node demo software and have sent the following command.

AT+JOIN=1

And get this response

OK
16s971:MAC txDone
22s004:RX_1 on freq 868500000 Hz at DR 0
22s203:IRQ_RX_TX_TIMEOUT
22s203:MAC rxTimeOut
23s004:RX_2 on freq 869525000 Hz at DR 0
23s203:IRQ_RX_TX_TIMEOUT
23s203:MAC rxTimeOut

Fundamentally it either wasn’t heard by a gateway or didn’t hear the gateway’s response. You could try ABP as a quick test - that is sending blind and doesn’t need a response for anything to appear on the console.

I’m in Bolton, which is sort of like Lancashire but not. Where (roughly) are you so we can look at the various maps to see what is likely.

The reality is that all across the forum you’ll find recommendations to debug with your own gateway, but let’s see what we can achieve first of all.

Best check out how to format posts as per guidelines

Hi Nick,

I am in Trafford Park Manchester.

I tried AT+JOIN=0 (ABP mode)

but nothing is received on the console, so I suspect I am out of range.

I think it’s most likely you are out of range but there are two/three in the vicinity of Mcr Piccadilly:

https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/map