Suggestions for a starter LoRaWAN Gateway

Hello… I’m new to LoRa and have been reading posts here on the TTN forum about 8 channel gateways, SX1302, LoRaWAN compatibility, etc. And also watching videos such as: https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/docs/quick-start/index.html I’m looking for a gateway that costs around $100 USD that I can begin using out of the box and customize the code as I progress. I’m in a rural area in the US without public LoRa service. LAN cable support and the ability to add an exterior antenna would be nice so that the GW can live in my basement shop and still achieve good range outdoors with a pole mounted antenna. The low power aspect of the SX1302 is attractive as at some point I may get down to the gateway module level.

• The Things Indoor Gateway looks simple but doesn’t support the external antenna and only supports WiFi backhaul. I don’t see a USB host port. $89USD
  • LIG16 Indoor LoRaWAN Gateway. I read a long TTN thread on this unit. I can’t tell if it’s a good starter unit - work out of the box - or if I need to immediately get into coding. $100-125USD

Any suggestions appreciated.
Thanks

I own a LIG16 and connected it to TTN V2 and V3 without problems. There are still some bugs in the firmware but it works out of the box. One advantage compared to the Dragino LPS8 is the power consumption. The LPS8 consumes abt. 4 W, the LIG16 1,3W.

2 Likes

Thanks wolfp. I think I’ll buy an LIG16.

Mostly we treat our gateways as appliances, not something we customise. Before diving off on the first post that gives you a thumbs up on the LIG16, what do you have in mind with “customising code”?

And overall, what are you objectives for LoRaWAN in the near future - because some activities would benefit from one setup, other things not so much. The gateway is just one element in the mix.