Supercapacitor LoRaWan Solar GPS tracker

Sorry in advance for my question, I am new at this.

I would like to use the AEM10941 e-peas based supercapacitor charger from https://www.tindie.com/products/jaspersikken/solar-harvesting-into-supercapacitors/ to solar power a GPS tracker (Ublox SAM-M8Q) using a ATmega328P. My plan is to get a GPS fix + transmitt using LoraWan and repeat every time the 3.3v regulated output that are enabled when the two * 10F 2.7V AVX has sufficient charge 4.5v.

As far as I understand two 10F 2.7V AVX should be able to power this setup when a ublox gps coldstart draws 45mA for 28s, the ATmega328P 13mA at 3.3v/8Mhz and a few mA for LoraWan transmition. The AEM10941 charges the supercapacitors up to 4.5V and the outputs are enabled down to 3.6V. So if my tracker uses 80 mA the 2x10F*(4.5V-3.6V)/0.08A= 225s giving my plenty of time to run my sketch. Could it be sufficient with one 10F 2.7V AVX supercapasitor?

Am I missing something here or am I just way off?

3 Likes

if you only transmit when you have sufficient charge it will keep on transmitting on a sunny day… and never transmit on a rainy day.
So you must have another form of interval timing,let’s say , check charge every hour during day, if sufficient transmit if not wait till next cycle, preferable use an RTC+lightsensor for interval timing.
At night you have another problem, the charge will be less and less (no Sun :upside_down_face: … So you need enough energy to transmit at night too.
x1483

The chip/module you found is ok I think… 2x 10F should probably work, but your tracker uses to much power (80 mA :scream: )
see the 5205 for example