TTGO boards - Icasa SA

Im thinking about setting up an end-device using the TTGO ESP32 lora board.
My question is; can I use this board in SA? or is it against the ICASA regulations?

Most probably but a few questions spring to mind:

Which frequency LoRa board?

Can you find the regulations on the ICASA website?

Can you find frequency plans by country on the TTN docs section?

Do you want to rely on legal advice from strangers?

Hi Descarte! Thanks for taking a look at my question.

Im new to TTN so I was wondering if anyone might know and have direct experience with working with TTN in S.A might want to advise me as I dont want to do something wrong!
(Sorry for the confusion, my question was not about frequency of operation, rather type-approval.)

In response to your question;

1. ICASA all I can find is:

https://www.icasa.org.za/legislation-and-regulations/regulations-underway/conformity-assessment-framework-for-equipment-authorization

Unless I am wrong,

ICASA issued regulation on type approval in 2013. They consulted interested parties on developing a “position statement” in 2017. And, more recently (2019) delivered this, so-called “position statement” in which they state that they will develop "Assessment Framework for Equipment Authorization".
So yeah, if anyone else can throw some light on it, im really not sure if I am actually allowed to use/sell/install the TTGO boards (which is not actually type approved in South Africa). Actually Im not really sure what TTN/LoRaWan is type approved in SA.

P

So you did exhaustively use Forum search then right?! SA is a regular topic…

Also AFAIK 433Mhz not supported by TTN…

Hi Jeff-UK, Thanks for your reply.
I agree with you regarding 433MHz, not what I was asking but yes.
Perhaps I need to just approach ICASA directly,
P

1 Like

Your username “434Mhz” pops up as the subject line in alerts. I think that’s the confusion there. :wink: