TTN Edmonton, Canada

This subcategory is to discuss setting up TTN in Edmonton! You can discuss gathering a team, Edmonton specific problems and technical issues.

24%20PM
welcome ! :sunglasses:

:wave: hi! by any chance someone has LoraWan gateway on TTN in Southside Edmonton?

Doesn’t look like it:

https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/map

1 Like

oh boi. im a newbie to this, and was hoping to evaluate a LoraWan node module without investing on a GW (yet).

but everything else (LoraWan + TTN + TT Stack) are interesting and looking like i need to spend nearly $150 to get started.

Evaluating without a gateway would be tricky at best, most people starting out without a gateway end up with one in the end.

Sure, there is a cost, but the backend servers are free.

A TTIG is around $90 an perfectly adequate to get going.

Or drive near to one of the gateways, but don’t sit on a park bench with lots of radio gear fiddling, makes the cops nervous.

exactly what I was thinking. drive and park at someone’s neighbourhood and just do a quick check with this (Grove - LoRa-E5) which is STM32WL based

but now its looking like i need to invest in a GW. TTIG is hard to find, none here in Canada. so far the P-NUCLEO-LRWAN2 looks interesting and TN Stack on docker containers.

I might be mistaken but if I recall correctly that one has sub optimal RF performance. Better to look for another option.

Why not the TTN community network? If you install a gateway one of your neighbors might start using it as well (and not need to spend the additional money).

2 Likes

Avoid! It’s ok for limited bench fiddling but they failed to follow full Semtech LoRaWAN ref design (IIRC missed out RF PA) and output power is limited… can hear a node at distance but may not be able to reach it! Dho! Potentially disruptive to you and other users… if going that route work on it in a Faraday cage so no outside disruption :wink:

1 Like

Erm, it might be TTN Stack but it’s actually TTS Open Source edition.