TTN/LoRaWAN with Raspberry PICO and Micropython

I’m very new to LoRaWAN and TTN and also to MicroPython. But does anybody know if it’s possible to use a Raspberry PICO using Micropython as an endnode communicating with TTN?
I saw some tryouts but mostly for point-2-point. Is there such a project?

Yes, see here:

1 Like

Im looking for a combination of PICO and the RFM95W module. Got it working with LMIC on an ESP32. But was hoping for a micropython solution interfacing directly with the RFM95W module.

1 Like

Given that the Pico has been out for just over two months, pretty much everything that people want is waiting on someone else to do the porting.

I’m not aware of any python based LoRaWAN solutions that will work satisfactorily with the v3 stack, so anything that is around now has a very finite lifespan

Try reading Raspberry Pi Pico กับ LoRaWAN. ใช้มอดูล Maxiiot-DL7612-AS923-TH | by Somsak Lima | Medium.

Sorry, it is not English. I use Maxiiot DL7612 which is LoRa MAC 1.0.2.

That’s an AT command based module like the RAK. The OP wants to drive the radio chip natively.

May try ulora lib if using with RFM95. GitHub - fantasticdonkey/uLoRa: LoRa / LoRaWAN + TTN for MicroPython (ESP32)
uLoRa lib is very limit in function. It only supports ABP and uplink.

I wrote some examples at https://bit.ly/3wEbqy7
I use ESP32 with RFM95 but I think it should also work with MicroPython on PICO.

Which makes it inappropriate for use with TTN, particularly the v3 stack, where OTAA with the ability to process downlink MAC commands is the expected norm.

There is plenty of room, even a whole core could be used, for porting LoRaMac-node.